Merging and Replacing Scenes in Storyboard Pro

Merging and Replacing Scenes in Storyboard Pro


Hello, everybody. My name is Kim.
And in this video, I’m going to be showing you how to use Merge and Replace in
Storyboard Pro. So here, I have a storyboard that is unedited,
so it’s my original Storyboard project. And I want to now take another file that
has been edited, and merge and replace the scenes in this project with those edited
scenes from the other project. So you can see over here,
I have my edited scenes. I’ve drawn some X’s on the panels
that I want to merge and replace, so those are my changes.
And so what this is going to do is it’s going to take these panels with the
changes on them, and it’s going to replace the panels of the same name in the
original project that I’m going to merge and replace it with. Now,
this is different from Insert or Merge, in that it doesn’t add new panels to the
project. It is replacing existing panels in that project. So we’re going to
merge and replace these panels. We’re going to go into File,
Project Management, Merge and Replace. Got its own little section at the bottom
here, and this dialog box will come up. So now, you have the option to
import a project. Now, you can import multiple projects. You don’t have to
import just one. So I’m going to import my Merge and Replace storyboard,
which is the one that we saw with the changes. And you’ll see,
it pops up here and we can tick it to say that this is the one we want to use.
So you can import more than one project if you want. So let’s just go and pick
another random project. And you’ll see, it pops up over here as well.
So you can just tick off whichever ones you want to merge and replace.
In this case, I don’t want to use the Insert Project to merge and replace.
So I can either leave it unticked or I can remove the project. Now,
if we go down here, you’ll be able to see the names of all the scenes that are going
to be merged and replaced. Now, this is where naming is really
important. If your scenes are not named the same as the scenes you are trying to
replace, you might not get the desired result that you want.
So I know for a fact that these scenes, they’re named the same,
because I extracted this piece from my storyboard earlier and I haven’t changed
any names on it. They’re exactly the same names as the ones that I’m going to merge
and replace. Then, you’ve got a couple of options on here. You’ve got “Keep and
Move Original Scenes to the End.” So this is if you’re worried about
losing the original scenes, you’re worried you might merge the
wrong scenes and then you’ve lost your original scenes, or whatever.
So this will take the scenes that you are replacing and move them to the end of your
storyboard but keep them unedited. At the same time, it will replace the
scenes where they were with the edited versions from the new file. Then,
we have “Respect Locked Audio Tracks.” Now, this basically means that any tracks
over here in your storyboard that are locked will not be changed or edited.
I know I haven’t edited any of the sound in this storyboard that I’m merging,
so I don’t have to worry about “Respect Locked Audio Tracks.”
But you will have to lock these audio tracks before merging and replacing
if you want them to be respected. “Import Audio Changes from Source
Project,” so again this is an option for if you’re importing sound.
Do you want the sound to have changes from the source project or do you want it
to leave the sound alone completely? So these two are different in that this
respects the locked audio tracks, but it’ll change the ones that aren’t
locked. And this one will prevent you from changing any of the audio tracks if
you decide to leave it unticked. “Only Merge Modified Panels,” what this
means is that if you’ve tracked changes in the file that you’re merging,
it is only going to change the panels that you have tracked changes on.
And then we have “Replace Artwork Only.” Now, this is quite handy if you don’t want
to edit your captions or anything like that, you just want to
edit the artwork in the panels. So your timing stays the same,
your captions stay the same. It’s just taking whatever is changed in
the artwork and changing that. And then, we also have “Preserve Layer
Transformations in Master Project.” So this will preserve any animation that
you have on those layers in the master project. Okay.
So I’m happy with the options I have here. I’m going to just merge,
and now you can see that the panels that I’ve got the X’s on are now in the
project, and they have replaced the scenes that were actually there.
And that is how you merge and replace scenes in Storyboard Pro.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *